Zuppa duppa

White Bean and Chipotle Chili

Don’t shy away from trying this non-recipe. The Chipotle part is totally optional. In case you’ve been living in an igloo, lately we’ve had extreme winter weather here in New England. All the cold and snow draws me to the warmth and comfort of soups. I’ve been making a lot of the oldies but goldies. I stumbled upon a recipe for a white bean soup that knocked my Boston Red Sox off! It’s very simple but flavorful. You could make this with items in your pantry. Okay. I’ve stopped laughing. Who has a “pantry”? I store my canned goods in a cabinet or a hall closet. We pretend it’s a “pantry”. Tom Brady and me, that is. I pretend a lot. Oh soup, right. This soup uses canned cannellini beans and store bought chicken stock. If you’ve got an onion, garlic and some spices, you are almost there. The original non-recipe calls for uncooked chicken breasts. Well, I decided my soup was going to have a rich flavor and used skinless, boneless chicken thighs. Oh.Yum. I did make the Chipotle part. I make this recipe a lot and have left over adobos and sauce that I freeze. Now I have another way of using them. My freezer thanks me.

So let’s get this party started (I crack myself up, sometimes)

1 large onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 pound of boneless, skinless chicken thighs cut in spoon size pieces

4 cups chicken stock

1 tbsp. dried oregano

1 tsp. ground cumin

2 cans of cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

In a 4-quart pot, heat olive oil and add onions. I like to sprinkle onions with a teaspoon of kosher salt. It helps draw out the water and caramelize them. Stir onions and cook until softened and starting to caramelize. Add the cut chicken thighs and start to brown them. Stir them occasionally. Don’t worry about any brown bits on the bottom of the pan. These add flavor to the soup. Add the oregano and cumin, stirring until mixed. Stir in the minced garlic. Cook for about 1 minute. Add 4 cups of chicken stock. If you want your soup a little less soupy, add only 3 cups. You can always add the remaining cup. Add the beans and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer soup for about 30-40 minutes. Stir occasionally. You want to make sure the chicken is cooked. At this point, I like to turn this healthy soup into something less healthy by adding a piece of Parmesan rind. Yes, you read that right. As the cheese melts off the rind, the soup becomes a little creamier. After thirty minutes, I remove the rind and mash some of the beans with a fork, on the side of the pan. This makes it a little creamier too. This step is totally optional.

Like many soups, this tastes even better the second day, if there’s any left.

The Chipotle part is very easy. I spoon some sour cream or plain Greek yogurt into a jar and then add some chipotle sauce. Stir until mixed. I like it spicy, so I add a lot. Drizzle this cream over the bowled soup. The soup is fantastic without this so don’t fret if you don’t have adobos.

I hope you try many different soups this winter! Spice it up a bit.

Here’s the original non-recipe.

Please note that I used Progresso beans. The can was 19 ounces, while other brands were less.

Leave a Reply

